Children’s Book: Pretty Minnie in Hollywood by America’s #1 Bestselling Author Danielle Steel

~I received Pretty Minnie in Hollywood for the purpose of reviewing. Opinions and stories are my own.~

Doubleday Books for Young Readers is rolling out the red carpet for the adorable Chihuahua Minnie in PRETTY MINNIE IN HOLLYWOOD, the latest adventure for the posh pup written by America’s #1 bestselling author Danielle Steel and illustrated by Kristi Valiant. Hollywood glamour comes to life for the youngest readers (ages 3–7) and fashionistas as they travel with Minnie to the Great White Way for fun, sun, and a little unexpected work.

Children's Book Pretty Minnie in Hollywood BY Danielle Steel Illustrated by Kristi Valiant

Lights, camera, adorable! Pretty Minnie is back, and it’s her big break when she visits the glitz and glamour of Hollywood! Whether sightseeing with her best friend, taking a dip in the fancy hotel pool, or having a costume fitting at the movie studio, Minnie’s star quality shines as she becomes everyone’s favorite motion-picture pup. This dazzling tale will have young readers shouting, “Hooray for Hollywood!”

DANIELLE STEEL is one of the world’s most popular authors, with over 600 million copies of her books sold. She is published in sixty-nine countries and forty-three languages. Ms. Steel lives in Paris and San Francisco with her miniature Chihuahuas, Minnie and Blue. 

KRISTI VALIANT is the author and illustrator of Penguin Cha-Cha and the illustrator of Pretty Minnie in Paris. She lives in Indiana with her husband and their little girls.

I will admit I have never read a Danielle Steel book before this one and that pretty much makes me the #WorstLibrarianEver. It boggles my husband’s mind how I can read so much and somehow miss out on big name titles and authors. In this book the story is super cute and the adorable illustrations give Minnie a fun personality that is hard for kids to resist! Add in adorable little costumes and accessories and you have a pup that little ones will enjoy reading over and over again. Complete with a sparkly hard cover and lots of Hollywood fun, young readers will love PRETTY MINNIE IN HOLLYWOOD. Now I need to go back and read Minnie’s first adventure in Pretty Minnie in Paris. Both my daughters can’t wait to read more books with the now famous Minnie.

Connect: You can connect with Danielle Steel on their website, Facebook and Twitter.

Katrina

55% Off Robotics Science Summer Camps Coupon Code: ORL201666

~This post has been written in collaboration with ROBOTS-4-U. Opinions and stories are my own.~

Robotics Science Summer Camps Coupon Code

Summer will be here before you know it and I try and prepare activities in advance to keep things from getting boring. That is why I usually sign my girls up for interesting summer camps. I want ones that either stimulate the mind in fun and exciting ways or involve sports. ROBOTS-4-U focuses on S.T.E.A.M. which is Science, Technology, Engineering, Art and Math! They sound like so much fun I wish I could go!

ROBOTS-4-U Summer Camps Now Enrolling and my readers save 60% Off with Code: ORL201666 at ROBOTS-4-U.

55% Off Robotics Science Summer Camps!

Check out some of the robots that some campers made in this short video.


Camp Information:

  • 1 week (5 days) long
  • Robot Camps and Dynamic Art Camps offered during June, July and August
  • Camps Girls and Boys – Aged 7 to 14
  • Days: Monday to Friday Times: 9:00-11:30a.m. and 12:30-3:00 p.m.
  • CAMPERS RATIO: 1 Instructor to 16 participants
  • Register early as camps do fill up quickly!
  • Hands on Learning, Self-Paced. Beginners to Expert!
  • Each Camper Individually uses a ROBOTICS or DYNAMIC ART Kit. Robot kits do not go home with campers but are available for purchase!

Robotics Science Summer Camps Coupon Code

At Dynamic Art campers build unique art projects that are animated. Sounds like a nice twist on traditional art camps. I really like that these camps have a camper ratio that is 1 instructor to 16 participants which means things won’t get chaotic or too crowded. Campers will have a BLAST while learning and playing in a dynamic environment. Learning about Robotics and Science, in an independent and exciting way is a great way to get the mind gears working!

MY READERS RECEIVE 55% Off Robotics Science Summer Camps! Code: ORL201666 at ROBOTS-4-U.

378746_475323992487606_1217020552_n

Review of the Hamster Princess Book Series + Giveaway {US}

~I received Ursula Vernon books for the purpose of reviewing. Opinions and stories are my own.~

I am always on the hunt for a new books to read to my girls. I am especially interested in unique children’s chapter book series. Now that Big Sis is almost 8 and reading (usually with us reading together in bed) I want to find books that really interest her. Harriet the Invincible and Of Mice and Magic in the HAMSTER PRINCESS series by Ursula Vernon are absolutely delightful and exactly what I was looking for. 

Hamster Princess Book Series

These fractured fairy tales are a unique hybrid as they are half graphic novel/half chapter book format. That means there are fun pictures with chat bubbles to go along with the story. Great for fans of Babymouse and Shannon Hale’s Princess in Black. This feisty female protagonist that can hold her own. No male lead needed!

Hamster Princess: Of Mice and Magic Written by: Ursula Vernon

Harriet Hamsterbone, also known as the Hamster Princess, in Harriet the Invincible, is a re-imagined Sleeping Beauty. A curse was put on her at her christening as a baby and at 12 years old she is doomed to a deep sleep forever. Her fairy god-mice were there to cast their own spells to try and help out (even though the king and queen or not so sure about 1 as surrounding the tower with briars doesn’t sound very useful). Now, in Of Mice and Magic, Vernon brings readers another epic adventure full of laugh-out-loud escapades, this one a fresh take on the classic tale The Twelve Dancing Princesses.

Hamster Princess: Ratpunzel Written by: Ursula Vernon

Once you read the books you will quickly see why Harriett is such a hit. This likeable character is most definitely not your average princess. She does not excel at traditional princess arts such as needlepoint or looking ethereal and she’s a terrible damsel in distress. She does the rescuing…when she’s not sword fighting, cliff-diving, playing checkers or fighting ogrecats, that is! The books are really funny and even parents will enjoy the humor. The third book in the series, Ratpunzel, comes out in October and I can’t wait to read it with my oldest daughter.

Castle Hangnail Written by: Ursula Vernon

For now I have one really amazing Ursula Vernon prize pack to give away to one lucky reader. The retail value is about $75. These are enough books to keep a girl reading all summer long!

  • Hamster Princess: Harriet the Invincible
  • Hamster Princess: Of Mice and Magic
  • Advance copy of Hamster Princess: Ratpunzel
  • Castle Hangnail
  • First five books in the Danny Dragonbreath series

Be on the lookout for Castle Hangnail as it was recently optioned for a film by Disney which I think would be awesome! Until then read the snarky Hamster Princess series and enjoy Harriet as the sassy princess that won’t cease to put a smile on your face.

Connect: You can connect with Penguin Young Readers on their website, Facebook and Twitter.
 
Here is your chance to win some awesome children’s books. Please fill out the Rafflecopter form below to enter to win a Ursula Vernon Prize Pack. 

[Read more…]

Pretend Play in the Bathtub with the Yookidoo Submarine Spray Station

~I received the Yookidoo Submarine Spray Station for the purpose of reviewing. Opinions and stories are my own.~

Pretend play is the heart of childhood. With imaginative play, kids are free to be anyone and do anything. They believe that anything is possible – because with pretend play, it really is! You can even encourage their creativity during bath-time with the Yookidoo Submarine Spray Station.

Pretend Play in the Bathtub with the Yookidoo Submarine Spray Station

This toy is all about fun! It has a circulating pump system which easily attaches to the bottom of the tub and draws water up through the yellow submarine into the diver shower head. Kids can squeeze the sides of the diver to make a gentle stream or flip a switch for a constant water stream. They can create their own in-tub washing station, car wash or rainstorm.

Yookidoo Submarine Spray Station

Depending on which funnel the water is put into at the top of the toy different things move and water comes out of different sections. It is ridiculously cute and the whole thing works for me exactly how it is suppose to.

Yookidoo Submarine Spray Station

This cool toy encourages exploration of cause and effect, improves fine motor skills, hand-eye coordination and problem solving skills. It is listed for ages 2 to 6 but I can honestly say my 4 and 7 year old think it is one of the coolest bath toys they have ever seen. Even I enjoy playing with the sprayer! This is one of those toys I actually don’t mind having in the tub and it would be great to give as a gift to other kids too.

Connect: You can connect with Yookidoo on their website, Facebook and Pinterest.

Katrina
%d bloggers like this: